• ONBAO 2020-03-28
  • Select your language
Shanghai Cooperation Organisation
  • +86 10 6532 9836
    Local language
  • 上海合作组织秘书处
  • Шанхайская организация сотрудничества
  • Organizations/Groups/Religion > Agencies/Representative Offices
  • Beijing Beijing Urban Chaoyang 亮马桥路
  • distance [서울]from 948.1km
The Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO), or Shanghai Pact,[1] is a Eurasian political, economic, and military organisation which was founded in 1996 in Shanghai by the leaders of China, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan. These countries, except for Uzbekistan, had been members of the Shanghai Five, founded in 1996; after the inclusion of Uzbekistan in 2001, the members renamed the organisation. On 10 July 2015, the SCO decided to admit India and Pakistan as full member

India and Pakistan signed the memorandum of obligations on 24 June 2016 at Tashkent, thereby starting the formal process of joining the SCO as full members.[2] India and Pakistan joined the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation as full members on 9 June 2017 in Astana, Khazakstan summit.