• ONBAO 2024-03-02
  • Select your language
    Local language
  • יְרוּשָׁלַיִם
  • القدس
  • Organizations/Groups/Religion > Local Government
  • Asia Israel Israel 
  • distance [서울]from 8,064.8km
Administered by Israel
Claimed by Israel and Palestine[note 1]
Israeli district Jerusalem
Palestinian governorate Jerusalem
Gihon Spring settlement 4500 BCE
City of David 1010 BCE
Present Old City walls built 1541
East-West Jerusalem division 1948
Reunification 1967
Jerusalem Law 1980
• Type Mayor–council
• Body Jerusalem Municipality
• Israeli mayor Nir Barkat (Likud)
• Palestinian mayor (East) Zaki al-Ghul (titular)
• City 125,156 dunams (125.156 km2 or 48.323 sq mi)
• Metro 652,000 dunams (652 km2 or 252 sq mi)
Elevation 754 m (2,474 ft)
Population (2016)[4]
• City 882,652
• Density 7,100/km2 (18,000/sq mi)
• Metro[5] 1,253,900
Demonym(s) Jerusalemite (Yerushalmi)
Demographics (2016)[6]
• Jewish 64%
• Arab 35%
• others 1%
Time zone IST, PST (UTC+02:00)
• Summer (DST) IDT, PDT (UTC+03:00)
Postal code 9XXXXXX
Area code +972-2
Website jerusalem.muni.il (Israeli)
UNESCO World Heritage Site
Official name Old City of Jerusalem and its Walls
Type Cultural
Criteria ii, iii, vi
Designated 1981
Reference no. 148
Region Jerusalem District
Endangered 1982–present

Jerusalem (/dʒəˈruːsələm/; Hebrew: יְרוּשָׁלַיִם‎ About this sound Yerushalayim [jeruʃaˈlajim]; Arabic: القُدس‎ About this sound al-Quds [alˈqʊds])[note 2] is a city in the Middle East, located on a plateau in the Judaean Mountains between the Mediterranean and the Dead Sea.

Israelis and Palestinians both claim Jerusalem as their capital, as the State of Israel maintains its primary governmental institutions there while the State of Palestine ultimately foresees the city as its seat of power; however, neither claim is widely recognized internationally.[note 3]

One of the oldest cities in the world, Jerusalem was named as "Urusalima" on ancient Mesopotamian cuneiform tablets, probably meaning "City of Shalem" after a Canaanite deity, during the early Canaanite period (approximately 2400 BCE). During the Israelite period, significant construction activity in Jerusalem began in the 9th century BCE (Iron Age II), and in the 8th century the city developed into the religious and administrative center of the Kingdom of Judah.[7] During its long history, Jerusalem has been destroyed at least twice, besieged 23 times, attacked 52 times, and captured and recaptured 44 times.[8] The part of Jerusalem called the City of David was settled in the 4th millennium BCE.[9] In 1538, walls were built around Jerusalem under Suleiman the Magnificent. Today those walls define the Old City, which has been traditionally divided into four quarters—known since the early 19th century as the Armenian, Christian, Jewish, and Muslim Quarters.[10] The Old City became a World Heritage Site in 1981, and is on the List of World Heritage in Danger.[11] Modern Jerusalem has grown far beyond the Old City's boundaries.

Jerusalem is considered a holy city in the three major Abrahamic religions of Judaism, Christianity and Islam. According to the Bible, King David conquered the city from the Jebusites and established it as the capital of the united kingdom of Israel, and his son, King Solomon, commissioned the building of the First Temple.[note 4] These foundational events, straddling the dawn of the 1st millennium BCE, assumed central symbolic importance for the Jewish people.[13] The sobriquet of holy city (עיר הקודש, transliterated ‘ir haqodesh) was probably attached to Jerusalem in post-exilic times.[14][15][16] The holiness of Jerusalem in Christianity, conserved in the Septuagint[17] which Christians adopted as their own authority,[18] was reinforced by the New Testament account of Jesus's crucifixion there. In Sunni Islam, Jerusalem is the third-holiest city, after Mecca and Medina.[19][20] In Islamic tradition in 610 CE it became the first qibla, the focal point for Muslim prayer (salat),[21] and Muhammad made his Night Journey there ten years later, ascending to heaven where he speaks to God, according to the Quran.[22][23] As a result, despite having an area of only 0.9 square kilometres (0.35 sq mi),[24] the Old City is home to many sites of seminal religious importance, among them the Temple Mount with its Western Wall, Dome of the Rock and al-Aqsa Mosque, and the Church of the Holy Sepulchre. Outside the Old City stands the Garden Tomb.

Today, the status of Jerusalem remains one of the core issues in the Israeli–Palestinian conflict. During the 1948 Arab–Israeli War, West Jerusalem was among the areas captured and later annexed by Israel while East Jerusalem, including the Old City, was captured and later annexed by Jordan. Israel captured East Jerusalem from Jordan during the 1967 Six-Day War and subsequently annexed it into Jerusalem, together with additional surrounding territory.[note 5] One of Israel's Basic Laws, the 1980 Jerusalem Law, refers to Jerusalem as the country's undivided capital. All branches of the Israeli government are located in Jerusalem, including the Knesset (Israel's parliament), the residences of the Prime Minister and President, and the Supreme Court. Whilst the international community rejected the annexation as illegal and treats East Jerusalem as Palestinian territory occupied by Israel,[28][29][30][31] Israel has a stronger claim to sovereignty over West Jerusalem.[32][33] The international community does not recognize Jerusalem as Israel's capital, and the city hosts no foreign embassies. Jerusalem is also home to some non-governmental Israeli institutions of national importance, such as the Hebrew University and the Israel Museum with its Shrine of the Book.

In 2015, Jerusalem had a population of some 850,000 residents, comprising ca. 200,000 secular Jewish Israelis, 350,000 Ultra-Orthodox Jews and 300,000 Palestinians.[34][note 6] In 2011, the population numbered 801,000, of which Jews comprised 497,000 (62%), Muslims 281,000 (35%), Christians 14,000 (around 2%) and 9,000 (1%) were not classified by religion.[36]